America, You Let Me Down

You elected a sexual assaulter for POTUS. You found reasons to hate a woman who had worked her whole life to have the experience to do this job well.  I don’t know which part of this is so appalling…I can’t even list all the things that frighten me.

After 9/11, I didn’t feel personally in danger, but I felt like the world had shifted.  And there was more hate in the world than I realized.

This feels like just as seismic a shift. But it feels like the hate is directed at me. And my LGBT+ friends.  And my friends who have darker skin or are Muslim.  And it comes from within.

I am being strong for my friends. I am organizing massive #s of people.  But I am frightened. I don’t feel like my humanity is not recognized by too many and I feel like we will be raising a generation that is regressive on that front.

8 thoughts on “America, You Let Me Down

    1. I would like to know better stats on how many of those couldn’t vote for reasons outside of their control – I was at a precinct where people were (under the law, properly) being turned away for not having proper proof of residence or identification. And others who walked in and walked out, saying they couldn’t vote b/c of work and couldn’t wait in line.

      I’m not saying that a lot of people don’t have a lot of explaining why they couldn’t take the step, but voter suppression is part of that #

      Like

      1. If you look at the trend, it’s been declining for some time now. The issue is more about voters feeling disenfranchised rather than prohibitive obstacles. Gallop polls CEO predicted precisely this outcome several months back. Complacency among the citizens allows for the media to deliver a much bigger impact than what it should be. I’ve yet to witness the conflict proposed by any media outlet. I’m not suggesting people aren’t outraged, but they only represent 25% of voters from either vantage point?

        Like

      2. I don’t disagree with this generally. I think this is something we can all take part in – getting those in our circle to vote. That collectively, it matters. But I also think this is where individuals can make a difference in doing GOTV, offering to watch kids, in states with voter ID laws, seeing if more marginalized groups need help getting IDs…I’m hoping as people get out of their trance, I can get some of my HFA field organizer friends to offer some thoughts on this.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I have no idea and I don’t know how to measure it. Indeed, the campaign was trying to compile numbers of people turned away for ID b/c they had no idea what those are. And there’s no way of knowing who doesn’t show up or who would vote, but they don’t care enough to make their voices heard.

        Fundamentally, letting someone know you can’t vote b/c of voter ID, child care, work issues, no proof of residency (say, you’re living with a family member and unemployed and nothing is in your name) are issues that we’ll only hear about from those who deeply care. The “eh, I would vote, but I ‘can’t” voters won’t make their voices heard. Even if it’s 2-5% (NO idea if that’s right), that’s worth looking at.

        States with vote by mail also have much higher participation. There is a Senate bill that would make vote by mail for all federal elections: https://www.wyden.senate.gov/download/?id=0496E690-BD04-4B6A-9DF9-1E7301F54D74&download=1

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I support everything you’ve identified here! My take is it will take a generational shift to effectively this complacency issue. I saw a report identifying 40% of Americans as not being able to name the three branches of government and their function?

        Like

Leave a Reply

