“Bern the Witch”…

Other than complaining about republicans, I haven’t waded into the elections here.  But this is making the rounds from Sanders’ official website today: https://embed.gyazo.com/44ae0f050bd7dbb84ceeae7ceb54803d.png

It was taken down as soon as people complained, but it was apparently up since October.

And this is following https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/the-fix/wp/2016/03/10/bernie-sanderss-most-vitriolic-supporters-really-test-the-meaning-of-the-word-progressive/

But the former “Bern the Witch” was on the official website. That’s not just hyper-aggressive online support.

What does this say about how strong women are seen? I guess it means that we’re terrible people. Witches. Is bitch implied? Doesn’t matter. Both are terrible.

When the left wants to tear down powerful women, what does this say for where we are? I see being confident about sex and being confident about my gender as being inextricably intertwined. I couldn’t enjoy sex as much as I do if I wasn’t completely confident about my right to enjoy it and that it’s not just men who get to enjoy sex.  That enjoyment of sex feeds back into my feeling that women deserve equal respect in our society.

And then a “progressive” champions “Bern[ing] the Witch”

We can do better. We need to demand better.

Leave a Reply

